Sonjay Dutt Released by TNA

Thanks to Pro Wrestling Insider for breaking this story.

Sonjay Dutt, the Playa from the Himalayas, has been released from TNA. This is now the second released star from the roster that I know of.

Sonjay was a very good wrestler, who I think got stuck with the wrong storyline.  His back and forth with Jay Lethal were some of the funniest moments I can remember.  As far as I am concerned, he is still a tremendous talent and it seems such a shame for his talent to go to waste.  I think he is a much better face than heel, but that is neither here nor there.

Another issue which will arise from this is what happens to So Cal Val now.  Does she try to go back to Lethal, become a manager, or will she meet the same fate?

Only time will tell.

Good Luck to Sonjay and all his future endeavours. It was a pleasure to see you live as well as Petey Williams

.

Video from TNAwrestling’s Youtube Channel

2 Responses to “Sonjay Dutt Released by TNA”

  1. Another bad release here. I understand TNA’s desire to try and shake things up, but it’s not the undercard that needs to go. Sonjay was a mainstay and a classic and an old hand at the game. I think he deserved better than being a “Guru”. Oh well. I hope he finds greater success on the indies or with the WWE. And I wouldn’t worry about Val. At worst, she’ll segue back into being just a ring girl. I surely hope so, anyways.

    • I think Sonjay was actually a release that not a lot of fans are going to like, but it was necessary. Sonjay is a great wrestler, don’t get me wrong, but I saw the beginning of the end with the Lethal/Dutt angle dying out. He isn’t that great of a heel, which is a shame, but against Jay Lethal, you have no other way to go. With the angle ending, the only thing left for him could have been him an Sheik Abdul Bashir teaming up and challenging for the tag titles against Lethal Consequences. That could have been an epic battle, but now we will never get that.

      I am not worried about Val. I think she should have went before Sonjay did. He has a ton of upside, and he wrestles. But So Cal Val is really the only good looking Manager in TNA at this moment, so I guess she has to stay.

Leave a comment